Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Guide to Good Forums: Starting Off

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Guide to Good Forums: Starting Off Empty Guide to Good Forums: Starting Off Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:23 pm

Macster

Macster
Administrator
Administrator

Author: Spek of Talkpark.net

Hey guys, these are my tips for starting a new forum from scratch and without many resources (not everyone has access to hundreds of dollars to advertise).

Step 1:
Before starting anything or even conceptualizing an idea, you need to have had developed a following on a few different forums. Get some close friends on your MSN/AIM list and do whatever favors you can for other people. Your goal is to get people to remember who you are. For example, when I'm new to a forum and people reply to my posts, I'm sure to check out the links in their signatures, etc. Be as welcoming as you can. You'd be surprised how many people are out there looking for a cool community to join.

Step 2:
Think of an idea. What kind of forum will you own? Will it be connected to a website? Will it have a portal? Will you be a design forum? A debate forum? General forum? Think of a unique idea to bring people in. For example, at TalkPark.net, my forum, we have a webcomic and various contests to keep people coming back.

Step 3:
Find a co-owner. If you don't have the money to invest in a professional designer or programmer for your site, you should find a buddy to help you start things, preferably someone who is knowledgeable in designing/coding. Also, don't be afraid to start learning to design or code. For a webmaster, this is one of the most important things to know.

Step 4:
When the skin for your forum is complete and you have all the content set up, start hyping your forum by making "coming soon" signatures. Ask your friends to wear them as well. This will spark curiosity.

Step 5: